The law on elections considers by the Senate Committee

On February 3, members of the Senate, senior officials of the relevant ministries and departments, experts and representatives of the media took part in a meeting of the Senate Committee of the Oliy Majlis of the Republic of Uzbekistan on Judicial and Legal Issues and Anti-Corruption. The meeting was held in the format of videoconferencing on the eve of the twelfth plenary session of the Upper Chamber of the Parliament.

The meeting considered issues scheduled for consideration at the twelfth plenary session of the Upper Chamber of Parliament. In particular, the Laws of the Republic of Uzbekistan "On amendments and additions to some legislative acts of the Republic of Uzbekistan in connection with the improvement of electoral legislation", "On amendments and additions to the Criminal and Criminal Procedure Codes of the Republic of Uzbekistan", as well as the report of the Cabinet of Ministers Of the Republic of Uzbekistan on the execution in 2020 of the State Program for the implementation of the Action Strategy in five priority areas of development of the Republic of Uzbekistan in 2017-2021 in the "Year of Science, Education and Digital Economy Development".

As it was noted, in recent years, our country has taken a number of practical measures to strengthen the legal basis of people's power, political pluralism and a phased modernization of the electoral system in the presidential elections of the Republic of Uzbekistan and elections to representative bodies of state power based on the principles of openness, transparency and independence.

However, it seems necessary to bring the substance of large-scale reforms carried out in our country in this area by eliminating a number of shortcomings and problems that have arisen, implementing some acceptable recommendations of international organizations into national legislation. The law was developed with the provision of uniform transparent and effective approaches to the electoral process, and along with this, a number of changes are being made.

In particular, the institutions of district election commissions, which conduct elections for district (city) Kengashes of people's deputies, are abolished and their powers are assigned in district (city) election commissions. A legal framework is being created for the procedure for entering into the voter list of citizens of Uzbekistan living abroad, regardless of the state or not in the consular register of diplomatic missions, voting by means of portable voting boxes at places of residence or work abroad.

In accordance with the current legislation, presidential elections, elections to the Legislative Chamber of the Oliy Majlis and local representative bodies are held properly in the year of the end of their constitutional mandate - on the first Sunday of the third decade of December. The amendments, in turn, propose holding elections in October.

The meeting also viewed the report of the Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Uzbekistan on the implementation in 2020 of the State Program for the implementation of the Strategy of Action in five priority areas of development of the Republic of Uzbekistan in 2017-2021 in the "Year of Science, Education and Digital Economy Development".

The issues of the need to conduct studies on the timely and high-quality implementation of the tasks identified in the Program in the context of the regions of the republic were also emphasized by the senators at the meeting.

The Committee meeting was attended by a member of the Central Election Commission of the Republic of Uzbekistan B. Yunusov, Deputy Director of the CEC Training Center for Election Law and Modern Technologies H. Paluaniyazov.

 

 

Press service

Central Election Commission

 

03.02.2021 248

В Комитете Сената рассмотрен закон о выборах

3 февраля в заседании Комитета Сената Олий Мажлиса Республики Узбекистан по судебно-правовым вопросам и противодействию коррупции проведенном в формате видеоконференцсвязи в преддверии двенадцатого пленарного заседания верхней палаты параламента приняли участие члены Сената, ответственные сотрудники соотвествующих министерств и ведомств, эксперты и представители средств массовой информации. 

 

В заседании рассмотрены вопросы, запланированные к рассмотрению в двенадцатом пленарном заседании верхней палаты парламента. В частности, предварительно рассмотрены Законы Республики Узбекистан «О внесении изменений и дополнений в некоторые законодательные акты Республики Узбекистан в связи с совершенствованием избирательного законодательства», «О внесении изменений и дополнений в Уголовный и Уголовно-процессуальный кодексы Республики Узбекистан», а также отчет Кабинета Министров Республики Узбекистан об исполнении в 2020 году Государственной программы по реализации Стратегии действий по пяти приоритетным направлениям развития Республики Узбекистан в 2017-2021 годах в «Год развития науки, просвещения и цифровой экономики». 

 

Как было отмечено, за последние годы в нашей стране принято ряд практических мер по укреплению правовой основы народной власти, политического плюрализма и поэтапной модернизации избирательной системы при проведении выборов Президента Республики Узбекистан и выборов в представительные органы государственной власти на основе принципов открытости, прозрачности и независимости. 

Однако, представляется необходимым доведение сущности широкомасштабных реформ, осуществляемых в нашей стране в данной сфере путем устранения ряда возникших недостатков и проблем, имплементации  в национальное законодательство некоторых приемлимых рекомендаций международных организаций. Закон разработан с предусмотрением единых прозрачных и эффективных подходов к процессу выборов и наряду с этим вносятся ряд изменений.       

В частности, упраздняются институты окружных избирательных комиссий, которые проводят выборы на районные (городские) Кенгаши народных депутатов и их полномочия возлагаются на районные (городские) избирательные комиссии. Создаются правовые основы порядка внесения в список избирателей граждан Узбекистана, проживающих зарубежом вне зависимости состояния или не состояния в консульском учете дипломатических представительств, голосования посредством переносных ящиков для голосования на местах проживания или работы зарубежом.    

 

В соответствии с действующим законодательством, Президентские выборы,  выборы в Законодательную палату Олий Мажлиса и местным представительным органам проводятся надлежащим образом в год завершения срока их конституционого полномочия – в первое воскресенье третьей декады декабря. Вносимыми изменениями в свою очередь предлагается проведение выборов в октябре месяце.   

В заседании также рассмотрен отчет Кабинета Министров Республики Узбекистан об исполнении в 2020 году Государственной программы по реализации Стратегии действий по пяти приоритетным направлениям развития Республики Узбекистан в 2017-2021 годах в «Год развития науки, просвещения и цифровой экономики».

В заседании сенаторами также подчеркнуто о необходимости проведения изучений по своевременному и качественному выполнению задач, определенных в Программе в разрезе регионов республики.

В заседании Комитета приняли участие член Центральной избирательной комиссии Республики Узбекистан Б. Юнусов, заместитель директора Учебного центра ЦИК по избирательному законодательству и современным технологиям Х. Палуаниязов.

 

Пресс служба

Центральной избирательной комиссии

 

 

03.02.2021 220