The Legislative Chamber convenes for first session

The first post-election session of the newly formed Legislative Chamber of the Oliy Majlis has begun in Tashkent.

President of the Republic of Uzbekistan Shavkat Mirziyoyev is taking part in the occasion.

The meeting was opened by Chairman of the Central Election Commission Mirza-Ulugbek Abdusalamov.

The event participants paid tribute to the national anthem of the Republic of Uzbekistan.

The deputies-elect approved the agenda, decided over the formation of Provisional Secretariat of the first session, the Counting Commission and the Provisional Group for Monitoring the Use of the Electronic Counting System. The CEC Chairman presented report on the results of the latest elections to the lower house of the country’s legislature.

In accordance with the Rules of Procedure of the Legislative Chamber of the Oliy Majlis, a Council of Representatives of Political Parties has been set up to choose the chief of the lower house. At the proposal of the Council, the deputies used secret ballot to elect Nurdinjon Ismailov as Speaker of the Legislative Chamber.

President Shavkat Mirziyoyev noted Mr. Ismailov’s extensive knowledge and experience, wished him and the parliament every success.

“You have been elected people’s representatives at a historically critical time. You must justify this status every day, every minute, pass laws for the people and contribute to the well-being of the population,” the President said.

Then the chairmanship of the meeting passed to the Speaker. Nurdinjon Ismailov read out the constituent protocols received by the Secretariat from leaders of five political parties on the formation of their parliamentary groups. Further on, fractions of political parties were registered in the Legislative Chamber.

The lawmakers elected Akmal Saidov to the newly established position – the First Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Chamber, while Aktam Khaitov (leader of the parliamentary group of the Movement of Entrepreneurs and Business People – the Liberal Democratic Party of Uzbekistan), Alisher Kadyrov (leader of the parliamentary group of the Milliy Tiklanish Democratic Party of Uzbekistan), Narimon Umarov (leader of the parliamentary group of the Adolat Social Democratic Party of Uzbekistan), Ulugbek Inoyatov (leader of the parliamentary group of the People’s Democratic Party of Uzbekistan) and Boriy Alikhanov (leader of the parliamentary group of the Ecological Party of Uzbekistan) as Deputy Speakers of the Legislative Chamber.

The session continues.

20.01.2020 634