Foreign observers have the right to participate in all events on elections

On November 6, 2019, a training seminar was organized at the International Press Center of the Central Election Commission for members of the district election commissions on the role of observers in the election process.

The training seminar was held via video conferencing with the involvement of an international expert, a representative of the United Nations Development Program, Georgy Baratashvili.

The event was attended by a member of the Central Election Commission Gulnoza Rakhimova, CEC employees, as well as more than 300 members of district election commissions responsible for cooperation with international observers.

The training was conducted in an interactive mode with the provision of detailed information on the importance of the institution of international observation and international standards for election observation, the status and powers of international observers, their rules of conduct, the powers and duties of observers.

During the event, it was noted that the Central Election Commission, after announcing the election campaign on September 20 of this year, sent invitations to international organizations and a number of foreign countries through the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to participate in the election observation.

Among these are international organizations such as the OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights, the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly, the Executive Committee and the Inter-Parliamentary Assembly of the Commonwealth of Independent States, the Shanghai Cooperation Organization, the Organization of Islamic Cooperation, the World Association of Electoral Bodies, as well as 26 foreign election bodies, parliamentarians of foreign states, representatives of research institutes and others.

This demonstrates the transparency and openness of the electoral process in our country, the commitment of Uzbekistan to obligations under international documents and universally recognized democratic principles.

According to article 33 of the Election Code of the Republic of Uzbekistan, foreign (international) observers have the right to participate in all activities for the preparation and conduct of elections.

Also, CEC Resolution No. 938 of September 19 approved the Regulation “On observers from foreign states and international organizations participating in the elections of the Republic of Uzbekistan”, which regulates the activities of international observers in the country's elections.

Foreign states and international organizations must submit relevant documents to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs no later than fifteen days before the voting day, and the ministry must submit an application to the CEC with the appendix of observer documents. The CEC, within five days, adopts a resolution on the accreditation of foreign (international) observers.

During the training seminar, a representative of UNDP and the CEC provided detailed information on procedures for working with international observers and innovations in the electoral legislation of Uzbekistan. 

Press Service

Central Election Commission

06.11.2019 341

Иностранные наблюдатели имеют право участвовать во всех мероприятиях по выборам

6 ноября 2019 года в Международном пресс-центре Центральной избирательной комиссии для членов окружных избирательных комиссий был организован семинар-тренинг, посвященный роли наблюдателей в избирательном процессе.

Семинар-тренинг был проведён посредством видеоконференцсвязи с привлечением международного эксперта, представителя Программы Развития Организации Объединенных Наций Георгием Бараташвили. 

На мероприятии приняли участие член Центральной избирательной комиссии Гулноза Рахимова, сотрудники ЦИК, а также в региональных студиях более 300 членов окружных избирательных комиссий, ответственных за сотрудничество с международными наблюдателями.

Тренинг проводился в интерактивном режиме с предоставлением подробной информации о значении института международного наблюдения и международных стандартов по наблюдению за выборами, статусе и полномочиях международных наблюдателей, правилах их поведения,  полномочиях и обязанностях наблюдателей.

В ходе мероприятия отмечено, что Центральная избирательная комиссия после объявления избирательной кампании 20 сентября текущего года через Министерство иностранных дел направила приглашения международным организациям и целому ряду зарубежных стран для участия в наблюдении за выборами.

В этом ряду такие международные организации, как Бюро по демократическим институтам и правам человека ОБСЕ, Парламентская Ассамблея ОБСЕ, Исполнительный комитет и Межпарламентская Ассамблея Содружества Независимых Государств, Шанхайская организация сотрудничества, Организация исламского сотрудничества, Всемирная ассоциация избирательных органов, а также 26 зарубежных избирательных органов, парламентарии иностранных государств, представители научно-исследовательских институтов и другие.

Это демонстрирует прозрачность и открытость избирательного процесса в нашей стране, приверженность Узбекистана обязательствам по международным документам и общепризнанным демократическим принципам.

Согласно статье 33 Избирательного кодекса Республики Узбекистан иностранные (международные) наблюдатели имеют право участвовать во всех мероприятиях по подготовке и проведению выборов.

Также Постановлением ЦИК №938 от 19 сентября утверждено Положение «О наблюдателях от иностранных государств и международных организаций, участвующих на выборах Республики Узбекистан», которым регламентируется деятельность международных наблюдателей  на выборах страны.

Иностранные государства и международные организации должны представить соответствующие документы в Министерство иностранных дел не позднее, чем за пятнадцать дней до дня голосования, а министерство внести в ЦИК ходатайство с приложением документов наблюдателей. ЦИК в пятидневный срок принимает постановление об аккредитации иностранных (международных) наблюдателей.

В ходе семинар-тренинга представитель ПРООН и ЦИК представили подробную информацию о процедурах работы с международными наблюдателями и новшествах избирательного законодательства Узбекистана.

06.11.2019 360