Mutual cooperation in the election process will serve to ensure the rights and legitimate interests of citizens

On October 29, 2019, a memorandum was signed between the Central Election Commission and the authorized representative of the Oliy Majlis of the Republic of Uzbekistan for Human Rights (Ombudsman).

In accordance with the memorandum, the parties will cooperate to ensure the political rights and legitimate interests of citizens in the upcoming elections to the Legislative Chamber of the Oliy Majlis, regional, district and city Kengashes of people's deputies.

It should be noted that the post of the Commissioner for Human Rights of the Oliy Majlis (Ombudsman) was established in 1995.

The Ombudsman conducts its activities on the basis of the Constitution, the Law

"On the Commissioner for Human Rights (Ombudsman)" and other regulatory documents. The Commissioner is a proper person who has been granted the authority of parliamentary control to enforce state acts, enterprises, institutions, organizations and officials of legislative acts in the field of ensuring the rights and freedoms of citizens.

The memorandum includes issues of strengthening guarantees for the protection of political rights and legitimate interests of citizens, control over the application of legislative acts when considering citizens' appeals to state bodies, and ensuring the principle of the supremacy of the rights of candidates.

The parties, on the basis of their authority, will cooperate with state bodies in raising awareness of political human rights with the general public, including legal documents regarding voting rights, joint monitoring in military units, places of detention and prisons, where polling stations, monitoring the provision of electoral rights of people with disabilities, joint consideration of voters' applications, candidates comrade and make the relevant legal decisions, as well as prevent the occurrence of violations of the electoral legislation. In order to implement the tasks of the memorandum, the parties will cooperate in the following order:

- to implement cooperation in the field of protecting political rights and legitimate interests of citizens by creating working groups;

- The parties, within their competence, will exchange statistical data, analytical materials, conclusions and other information;

- The parties will hold joint seminars, round tables, conferences, media briefings and other promotional events.

The memorandum signed by the parties plays an important role in the implementation of the CEC decision of October 11, 2019 "On the organization and conduct of a month of propaganda of the electoral law," in particular to further improve the efficiency of work to clarify the latest innovations in the election code and electoral law, the significance of the regulatory documents of the Central Election Commission, governing the electoral process, as well as clarifying the rights and freedoms of citizens.

Press Service

Central Election Commission

29.10.2019 507

Взаимное сотрудничество в избирательном процессе послужит обеспечению прав и законных интересов граждан

29 октября 2019 года, между Центральной избирательной комиссией и уполномоченным Олий Мажлиса Республики Узбекистан по правам человека (Омбудсманом) подписан меморандум.

В соответствии с меморандумом, стороны будут сотрудничать в целях обеспечения политических прав и законных интересов граждан в рамках предстоящих выборов в Законодательную палату Олий Мажлиса, областных, районных и городских Кенгашей народных депутатов.

Отметим, что должность уполномоченного Олий Мажлиса по правам человека (Омбудсмана) была учреждена в 1995 году.

Омбудсман ведёт свою деятельность на основе Конституции, Закона
"Об уполномоченном по правам человека (Омбудсмане)" и других нормативно-правовых документов. Уполномоченный - должное лицо, которому предоставлены полномочия парламентского контроля по исполнению государственными органами, предприятиями, учреждениями, организациями и должностными лицами законодательных актов в области обеспечения прав и свобод граждан.

В меморандум включены вопросы усиления гарантий защиты политических прав и законных интересов граждан, контроля за применением законодательных актов при рассмотрении обращений граждан в государственные органы, а также обеспечения принципа верховенства прав кандидатов.

Стороны, исходя из своих полномочий, будут сотрудничать с государственными органами в вопросах доведения значения до широкой общественности политических прав человека, в том числе нормативно-правовых документов  относительно избирательных прав, совместного мониторинга в военных частях, местах заключения под стражу и тюрьмах, где будут организованы избирательные участки, проведения мониторинга за обеспечением избирательных прав людей  с ограниченными физическими возможностями, совместного рассмотрения обращений избирателей, кандидатов и вынесения соответствующих законных решений, а также предотвращения случаев нарушения избирательного законодательства.

В целях реализации поставленных задач в меморандуме, стороны будут осуществлять сотрудничество в следующем порядке:

- В целях осуществления сотрудничества в сфере защиты политических прав и законных интересов граждан будут создаваться рабочие группы;

- Стороны, в рамках своей компетенции будут обмениваться статистическими данными, аналитическими материалами, заключениями и другой информацией;

- Стороны будут проводить совместные семинары, круглые столы, конференции, брифинги для СМИ и другие пропангандистские мероприятия.

Подписанный сторонами меморандум играет важную роль в исполнении решения ЦИК от 11 октября 2019 года " Об организации и проведении месячника пропаганды избирательного законодательства", в частности дальнейшего повышения эффективности работ по разъяснению последних нововведений в избирательный кодекс и избирательное законодательство, значения нормативно-правовых документов Центризбиркома, регулирующих избирательный процесс, а также разъяснения прав и свобод граждан. 

Пресс-служба ЦИК.

29.10.2019 574